Navigation and service

Use of cookies

Cookies help us to provide our services. By using our website you agree that we can use cookies. Read more about our Privacy Policy and visit the following link: Privacy Policy


The presidents of the Robert Koch Institute at a glance

Robert Koch-Institut, 1900. © RKI

1891 – 1904Prof. Dr. Robert Koch
1904 – 1913Prof. Dr. Georg Gaffky
1913 – 1915Prof. Dr. med. Friedrich Loeffler
1915 – 1933Prof. Dr. Fred Neufeld
1933 – 1934Friedrich Karl Kleine
1934 – 1935Prof. Dr. Richard Otto
1935 – 1945Prof. Dr. Eugen Gildemeister
1945 – 1949Prof. Dr. Otto Lentz
1949 – 1952Prof. Dr. phil. Dr. med. Bruno Harms
1952 – 1969Prof. Dr. med. Georg Henneberg
1970 – 1984Prof. Dr. med. Hansjürgen Raettig, Dr. Karl-Ernst Gillert, Prof. Dr. Hans Kröger, Prof. Dr. med. Wilhelm Weise (co-operative lead)
1985 – 1990Prof. Dr. med. Wilhelm Weise
1990 – 1996Prof. Dr. Hans Kröger, Dr. jur. Joachim Welz, Prof. Dr. Hans Hoffmeister (acting head)
1996 – 2008Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Reinhard Kurth
2008 – 2010Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Jörg Hacker
2010 – 2015Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Reinhard Burger
Since 2015Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Lothar H. Wieler

Date: 27.09.2021