Navigation and service

Use of cookies

By clicking on "Allow" you consent to the anonymous recording of your stay on the site. The evaluations do not contain any personal data and are used exclusively for the analysis, maintenance and improvement of our website. For further information on data privacy, please click on the following link: Data Privacy Policy


Commission on Anti-Infectives, Resistance and Therapy

Members of the Commission on Anti-Infectives, Resistance and Therapy. Source: © RKI

The increasing importance of resistant pathogens is addressed in the German Antimicrobial Resistance Strategy (DART). The correct use of anti-infectives plays an important role in combatting development and spread of resistant pathogens.

In 2011, the law amending the Protection against Infection Act and other laws created the basis for the Commission on Anti-Infectives, Resistance and Therapy (ART) at the RKI that started working in January 2013. The commission compiles up-to-date general recommendations for diagnosis and therapy, especially in the case of infections with resistant pathogens, and, in close collaboration with the Association of the Scientific Medical Societies, it initiates the compilation of medically sound recommendations and of infectious disease guidelines on antibiotic therapy by the scientific societies. The commission has determined a need for evidence-based guidelines (especially S3 guidelines) for common and life-threatening infectious diseases. It is also involved in the discussions of the inter-ministerial working group on antibiotic resistance.

The scientific secretariat to the commission is located in the Department of Infectious Disease Epidemiology at the RKI, in the unit “Healthcare-associated Infections, Surveillance of Antimicrobial Resistance and Consumption”. It assists and coordinates all activities of the commission, especially the preparation of scientific content for meetings and for consulting the Federal Ministry of Health.

The commission ART consists of currently 17 independent experts, appointed by the Ministry of Health for periods of three years. The members of this commission are renowned experts in the fields of clinical medicine, microbiology, virology, infection control, epidemiology and public health.

Date: 28.09.2023