Information on the designation of international risk areas

Current at: 14 August 2020 – 6:00 p.m.

Changes since last amendment: <u>Spain</u> – mainland Spain and the Balearic Islands are classified as risk areas (not Canary Islands).

The countries listed below are designated as currently presenting an increased risk of infection with SARS-CoV-2. In parentheses is indicated since when an area is classified as a risk area. At the end of the page, there is a summary of countries, which have been classified as risk areas at any time during the last 14 days, but are currently NOT classified as risk areas.

Persons entering the Federal Republic of Germany, who have spent time in a risk area at any specific period within 14 days prior to entry, are subject to a mandatory Covid-19 test (from 8 August 2020) and may be subject to quarantine under the specific quarantine ordinances issued by the competent federal state (Land).

Please note: The Federal Government examines, on an ongoing basis, the extent to which areas are to be classified as risk areas. As a result, this list can be modified at short notice and, above all, may be extended. Directly before embarking on your journey, please check whether you have spent time in one of these areas in the last 14 days before entering Germany. Should this be the case, you must expect to be subject to mandatory testing and quarantine.

The existing travel and safety advisories by the Federal Foreign Office as well as the Federal Government's information for travellers and commuters (https://www.bundesregierung.de/breg-de/themen/coronavirus/corona-regelungen-1735032) still apply.

- Afghanistan (since 15 June)
- Albania (since 15 June)
- Algeria (since 15 June)
- Angola (since 15 June)
- Antigua and Barbuda (since 17 June)
- Argentina (since 15 June)
- Armenia (since 15 June)
- Australia the following state is currently classified as a risk area:
 - Victoria (since 7 August)
- Azerbaijan (since 15 June)
- Bahamas (since 15 June)
- Bahrain (since 15 June)
- Bangladesh (since 15 June)
- Barbados (since 15 June)
- Belarus (since 15 June)
- Belgium the following province is currently classified as a risk area:
 - o Antwerp (since 5 August)
- Belize (since 15 June)
- Benin (since 15 June)

- Bhutan (since 15 June)
- Bolivia (since 15 June)
- Bosnia and Herzegovina (since 15 June)
- Brazil (since 15 June)
- Bulgaria the following provinces is currently classified as risk areas (since 7 August):
 - o Blagoevgrad,
 - Dobritch
 - o Varna
- Burkina Faso (since 15 June)
- Burundi (since 15 June)
- Cameroon (since 15 June)
- Cape Verde (since 3 July)
- Central African Republic (since 15 June)
- Chad (since 15 June)
- Chile (since 15 June)
- Colombia (since 15 June)
- Comoros (since 15 June)
- Costa Rica (since 15 June)
- Côte d'Ivoire (since 15 June)
- Cuba (since 15 June)
- Djibouti (since 15 June)
- Dominica (since 17 June)
- Dominican Republic (since 15 June)
- DR Congo (since 15 June)
- Ecuador (since 15 June)
- Egypt (since 15 June)
- El Salvador (since 15 June)
- Equatorial Guinea (since 15 June)
- Eritrea (since 15 June)
- Eswatini (since 15 June)
- Ethiopia (since 15 June)
- Gabon (since 15 June)
- Gambia (since 15 June)
- Ghana (since 15 June)
- Grenada (since 17 June)
- Guatemala (since 15 June)
- Guinea (since 15 June)
- Guinea-Bissau (since 15 June)
- Guyana (since 15 June)
- Haiti (since 15 June)
- Honduras (since 15 June)
- India (since 15 June)
- Indonesia (since 15 June)
- Iran (since 15 June)
- Iraq (since 15 June)
- Israel (since 3 July)
- Jamaica (since 15 June)

- Kazakhstan (since 15 June)
- Kenya (since 15 June)
- Korea (Democratic People's Republic, North Korea) (since 15 June)
- Kosovo (since 15 June)
- Kuwait (since 15 June)
- Kyrgyzstan (since 15 June)
- Lebanon (since 15 June)
- Lesotho (since 15 June)
- Liberia (since 15 June)
- Libya (since 15 June)
- Luxembourg (since 14 July)
- Madagascar (since 15 June)
- Malawi (since 15 June)
- Maldives (since 17 July)
- Mali (since 15 June)
- Mauritania (since 15 June)
- Mexico (since 15 June)
- Mongolia (since 15 June)
- Montenegro (since 15 June)
- Morocco (since 15 June)
- Mozambique (since 15 June)
- Namibia (since 15 June)
- Nepal (since 15 June)
- Nicaragua (since 15 June)
- Niger (since 15 June)
- Nigeria (since 15 June)
- North Macedonia (since 15 June)
- Oman (since 15 June)
- Pakistan (since 15 June)
- Palestinian territories (since 3 July)
- Panama (since 15 June)
- Papua New Guinea (since 17 June)
- Paraguay (since 15 June)
- Peru (since 15 June)
- Philippines (since 15 June)
- Qatar (since 15 June)
- Republic of Moldova (since 15 June)
- Republic of the Congo
- Romania the following counties are classified as risk areas:
 - Argeş (since 7 August)
 - o Bacău (since 12.August)
 - Bihor (since 7 August)
 - o Brăila (since 12.August)
 - o Brașov (since 12.August)
 - o București (since 12.August)
 - Buzău (since 7 August)
 - o Dâmbovița (since 12.August)
 - o Galati (since 12.August)

- o Gorj (since 12.August)
- o Ilfov (since 12.August)
- o Mehedinți (since 12.August)
- Neamt (since 7 August)
- o Prahova (since 12.August)
- o Ialomita (since 7 August)
- Timis (since 7 August)
- o Vaslui (since 12.August)
- o Vrancea (since 12.August)
- Russian Federation (since 15 June)
- Saint Kitts and Nevis (since 16 June)
- Saint Lucia (since 15 June)
- Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (since 16 June)
- São Tomé and Príncipe (since 16 June)
- Saudi Arabia (since 15 June)
- Senegal (since 15 June)
- Serbia (since 15 June)
- Seychelles (since 17 July)
- Sierra Leone (since 15 June)
- Somalia (since 15 June)
- South Africa (since 15 June)
- South Sudan (since 15 June)
- Spain mainland Spain and the Balearic Islands (not Canary Islands) (since 14 August)
- Sri Lanka (since 15 June)
- Sudan (since 15 June)
- Suriname (since 15 June)
- Syrian Arab Republic (since 15 June)
- Tajikistan (since 15 June)
- Tanzania (since 15 June)
- Timor Leste (East Timor) (since 17 June)
- Togo (since 15 June)
- Trinidad and Tobago (since 15 June)
- Turkey (since 15 June)
- Turkmenistan (since 17 June)
- Ukraine (since 15 June)
- USA (since 3 July; only specific states were classified as risk areas before)
- Uzbekistan (since 15 June)
- Venezuela (since 15 June)
- Yemen (since 15 June)
- Zambia (since 15 June)
- Zimbabwe (since 15 June)

Classification as a risk area is the result of a joint analysis and decision-making process by the Federal Ministry of Health, the Federal Foreign Office and the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community. This classification as a risk area is based on a two-step assessment. Initially, it is determined in which countries/regions there were more than 50 new infections per 100,000 inhabitants in the last seven days. In a second step, qualitative criteria

are used to determine whether or not countries/regions that might nominally fall below this threshold could nonetheless still present an increased risk of infection. As part of the second step, particularly the Federal Foreign Office and, where relevant, the Federal Ministry of Health and the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community, provide qualitative reports based on reporting by the local German diplomatic representations, which also covers measures taken to halt the spread of the coronavirus pandemic. Key factors in this assessment are above all the numbers of infection and the type of outbreak (local or wide-spread), testing capacities and the number of tests carried out per capita as well as the measures taken to contain the spread of infection (hygiene regulations, contact tracing, etc.). Similarly, this also takes into account individual countries where reliable information may not be readily available.

Areas that have been risk areas at any time during the past 14 days but are currently no risk areas anymore: -.